Together we…
The Small Project Practitioners (SPP) Knowledge Community presents the 15th annual Small Project Award Program to recognize the work of small project practitioners and to promote excellence in small project design. This award program strives to raise public awareness of the value and design excellence that architects bring to all project types, including renovations and additions, no matter the limits of size and budget.

This year’s Small Project Award theme, “Together we…” The theme is intentionally open-ended to encourage wide interpretation.

Submission deadline is November 12, 2018, 5pm.

A small project can make a big impact, and a single design element can set the tone for large projects. These awards highlight the value of every contribution to a project and showcase standard-setting small projects, regardless of size and budget.

Small Project Awards have a yearly theme and are given in three categories, offering opportunities for recognition to a wide range of project sizes and budgets.


  • Any architect licensed in the US may enter.
  • Built projects must have been completed after January 1, 2016.​
  • There is no requirement for professional photography
  • Any sized firm may submit a project.
  • Maximum of four entries per firm – (a single project may be entered in two different categories with applicable fees for each entry).


Kurt Weaver, AIA, (Chair), AKW, Inc., Cleveland

Matthew Henning Griffith, AIA, in situ studio, Raleigh

Anna Ives, AIA, patterrhn ives llc, St. Louis

Edward Ogosta, AIA, Edward Ogosta Architecture, Culver City, California

Stacey Wehe, AIA, Christner Inc., St. Louis


Submissions are welcome in three categories:

  • Category one: small project construction, object, work of environmental art or architectural design element up to $150,000 in construction cost
  • Category two: small project construction up to $1.5 million in construction cost
  • Category three: small project construction, object, work of environmental art or architectural design under 5,000 square feet (the architect must have had a significant role in the construction, fabrication, and/or installation of the work in addition to being the designer)

The jury evaluates entries based on how successfully projects meet their individual requirements. Entries are judged individually—not in competition with each other.

All projects must demonstrate design achievement, including how the project fits into its environment and how the project connects to the year’s award theme.

To View 2018 Recipients

Shown here on Residential Design.

Shown at, click on the links below:

Category one: Up to $150,000 in construction costs

Five Fields Play Structure,  FR|SCH Projects with Matter Design, Lexington, Massachusetts

Studio / Bunkhouse, Cutler Anderson Architects, Washington

Category two: Up to $1,500,000 in construction costs

Rear Window House, Edward Ogosta Architecture, Culver City, California

Sawmill, Olson Kundig, Tehachapi, California

Shadow Play, Howeler + Yoon Architecture, LLP, Phoenix

Sonoma Residence, Alchemy Architects, LLC, Santa Rosa, California

The Grand Lake Poolhouse, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, North-eastern Oklahoma

Category three: Under 5,000 square feet

Bi(h)OME, Kevin Daly Architects, Los Angeles

Chapel at Congregation Kehilath Jeshurun, FXCollaborative, New York City

Principal Riverwalk Pump Station, substance, Des Moines, Iowa

Rosewood Park Beach Improvements, Woodhouse Tinucci Architects, Highland, Illinois