Best New Homes Honored With AIA’s 2020 Housing Awards

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is recognizing seven exceptional residential designs with its 2020 Housing Awards.

AIA’s Housing Awards program, now in its 20th year, was established to recognize the best in housing design for new construction, renovations and restorations. Each year projects are awarded based on four different categories: one- and two-family custom residences; one- and two-family production homes (no recipients selected this year); multifamily housing; and specialized housing.

This year’s recipients were selected by a five-member jury that evaluated projects for demonstrating design excellence. Additionally, the jury evaluates whether designs are sustainable, affordable, durable, innovative, socially impactful, meeting client needs as well as addressing the natural and built contexts. The 2020 Housing Award recipients are:

(Click on the project name for photos and write-ups; click on the firm name for more about the architects.)

Category 1 – One- and Two-Family Custom Residence

Category 3 – Multifamily Housing

Category 4 – Specialized Housing

Complete details for each of the awarded projects can be reviewed on AIA’s website. Visit AIA’s website for more information on the housing awards program.

About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.